LIVING WITH VISION LOSS

Hello to all of our great listeners and new listeners as well.

This coming Sunday, July 19, 2015 from 8-9 PM, Eastern, 7-8 PM, Central, 6-7 PM, Mountain, 5-6 PM, Pacific, and all those other times, accessibleworld.org brings you "living with Vision Loss in the Classroom. This week's program hosted by Darla Rogers and Ken Metz has a real treat in store as we present our guest, Ms. Ann Parsons who will discuss what it is like being blind and traveling to India. Such questions as how she was received and perceived as a person who is blind traveling through India, what it was like traveling around the areas/cities she visited while there, her learned knowledge of how blind folks are treated in India and so much more will be discussed. How does being blind in India compare with being blind in the United States, and what are the opportunities for blind and visually impaired persons in India?

Ms. Ann K. Parsons is the sole proprietor and tutor of Portal Tutoring. She has been in business for the past eleven years. She has been tutoring high school students and adults since 1978. She has a B.A. in English Education and an M.S. in Guidance and Personnel, plus thirty hours in Teaching The Blind and Visually Impaired. In addition, Ms. Parsons has a certificate of completion from Access Technology Institute in Assistive Training in computers adapted for the blind.

During 2005 and 2006, Ms. Parsons made three mission trips to South India where she gave lectures and classes to both students and adults in Assistive Technology for the blind and visually impaired. While there, she had an opportunity to travel to several cities and towns as well as to meet with officials, teachers, college students and high school students. She has written of her experiences on her web site at:

http://www.portaltutoring.info/Indian_Experiences.html

She welcomes this opportunity to share her experiences with you.

Please join and participate as Darla and Ken present Ann Parsons at the listed times this Sunday for a most educational and interesting program regarding the treatment of blind persons in other countries from the perspective of a most interesting and enthusiastic guest who is blind herself and in the field of education of braille and adaptive technology. The audience will, as always, have ample time to ask questions of Ms. Parsons, and if you have any questions prior to the program, you can email Darla at djrogers0628@gmail.com or Ken at kenmetz1946@gmail.com.