Announcements

The History Group ‘the electrifying fall of Rainbow City: spectacle and assassination at the 1901 World’s Fair’

The History Group will meet on Tuesday, October 3, 2017 to discuss ‘the electrifying fall of Rainbow City: spectacle and assassination at the 1901 World’s Fair’.
Buffalo, New York’s 1901 Pan American Exposition was supposed to celebrate a century of progress highlighted by Mr. Edison’s new electricity generated by the nearby Niagara Falls lighting the Exposition and Buffalo. But the Fair’s primary promoter and self-styled “King of the Animals” ruthlessly buffaloed the disparate and often desperate fair exhibitors and employees into questionable dangerous and callous actions in order to create a money-making spectacle. The highly publicized electrocution of Jumbo the elephant, killing and feeding the cities dogs to the Indian encampment, the questionable treatment of a two-foot tall midget did cause some comment, but not like the fire storm it would cause today.   The book details the assassination of President McKinley is well covered.
 
Don Queen queens@pacbell.net
NLS annotation:              
The electrifying fall of Rainbow City: spectacle and assassination at the 1901 World's Fair DB 88334
                                               
Creighton, Margaret S
. Reading time 9 hours, 24 minutes.

                Read by
Callie Beaulieu
. A production of the National Library Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress.

Subjects:
Science and Technology

Description: An account of the 1901 Pan-American Exposition in Buffalo, which went spectacularly awry. Many had believed it would be even more brilliant than Chicago's White City of 1893; but it was, instead, struck by tragedy, death, and scandals, both big and small. Unrated. Commercial audio book. 2016. 

Date:Tuesday, October 03, 2017;
Time:6:00 p.m. Pacific, 6:00 p.m. Mountain, 7:00 p.m. Central, 8:00 p.m. Eastern and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 00:00 GMT