Announcements

A Journey Through History Discussing Ike's Bluff: President Eisenhower's secret battle to save the world DB76788 by Evan Thomas

The History Group will meet on the first Tuesday, May 2, 2017 to discuss ‘Ike's Bluff: President Eisenhower's secret battle to save the world‘.      
In last night’s discussion, those of the group who liked the Kennedys liked Larry Tye’s book on the transformation of Bobby Kennedy.
 
In May we will return to the early fifties where the elderly ex-general Eisenhower assumed the burden of the Cold War he inherited from General MacArthur and President Truman (which we discussed in March). Armed with the secret knowledge obtained from the U2 flights, Ike refused to involve the US in small proxy wars or expand the military at some considerable health and political costs to himself.
 
NLS ANNOTATION:
Ike's Bluff: President Eisenhower's secret battle to save the world
DB76788
Thomas, Evan. Reading time: 15 hours, 18 minutes.
Read by Robert Sams.
U.S. History
Author of The War Lovers (DB 71695) uses diaries and declassified archives to investigate President Eisenhower's plan for "massive retaliation" in response to the threat of nuclear attack during the Cold War. Explains how Ike kept both the communists and his own generals in check. Some strong language. 2012.

Date: May 2, 2017
Time: 6:00 PM PST, 7:00 PM MST, 8:00 PM CST, and 9:00 PM EST
And elsewhere in the world Thursday 01:00 GMT.