Announcements

Mystery Book Club to Discuss Somebody I used to Know DB85246 by David Bell

The next meeting of the Mystery Book Discussion Group will be held on the

fourth Sunday ofMarch, Sunday March 26, 2017.  Come join us!  All are

welcome.  .  We will be discussing Somebody I used to Know by David Bell in

the Book Nook room found here:

http://conference321.com/masteradmin/room.asp?id=rs7867a2369e0e

You can find it on BARD by looking for DB85246.  You can find it on

Bookshare at: 

https://www.bookshare.org/browse/book/1068810

Ann Parsons, Group Facilitator

Email: akp@portaltutoring.info

Skype: Putertutor

Date: Sunday, March 26, 2017
Time: 2:00 p.m. Pacific, 3:00 p.m. Mountain, 4:00 p.m. Central, 5:00 p.m. Eastern, and elsewhere in the world Sunday 21:00 GMT.

Tek Talk will be featuring Rom Miller (Product Manager at VFO group) and Adi Kushnir ( elita Group)

First of all, a great big thanks to both John and Larry Gassman for writing this Newswire and recording the interview which you will hear Monday, March 27th.
 
TekTalk is proud to welcome  Rom Miller (Product Manager at VFO
group) and Adi Kushnir ( elita Group) to discuss the ElBraille windows
10 notetaker.
 
Adi and Ron spoke in a recorded interview with John and Larry Gassman
at CSUN and will be available following the recording to answer
questions.
 
Now, what is the ElBraille all about?
 
http://www.freedomscientific.com/Freedom Scientific and (VFO Group) introduced ElBraille, running Microsoft Windows 10 and JAWS 18,
 
the ElBraille is the newest portable computing solution for the blind
and the logical next step in notetaker development. The
ElBraille-14 and ElBraille-40 use JAWS 18 to provide speech and braille
output and JAWS BrailleIn feature to allow complete control of the
ElBraille computer from the Perkins-style, braille keyboard.
The Windows operating environment is the standard in education and
professional settings. Run Windows applications such as the Microsoft
Office suite or Adobe Reader for complete access to all mainstream
document and file types. Use accessibility applications and accessories
such as OpenBook (printed text to speech and braille
software) with the PEARL Camera to immediately read classroom texts or
meeting and lecture handouts.
 
Running the latest Windows operating system on an Intel Atom quad core
processor, with 160 GB of internal memory and 2 GB RAM, and
incorporating either the Focus 14 or 40 Blue Braille Display, and JAWS
18, the ElBraille is the logical choice for anyone who wants to raise
note-taking and portable, accessible computing to the highest level.
 
It makes sense to use a device which completely supports mainstream
applications, such as Microsoft Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Outlook,
says Brad Davis, Vice President of Hardware Product Management at
Freedom Scientific. Adding Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and cellular connectivity
with up to 20 hours battery life makes the ElBraille a real
productivity powerhouse.
 
The ElBraille-14 is scheduled to go on sale in the US and Canada in the
second quarter of 2017 with the ElBraille-40 following soon after.
 
Co-Chair, Ken Metz
Email: kenmetz1946@gmail.com
 
Co-Chair: Alan Lemly
Email: walemly@gmail.com

Date: Monday, March 27, 2017
Time: 5:00 p.m. Pacific, 6:00 p.m. Mountain, 7:00 p.m. Central, 8:00 p.m. Eastern and elsewhere in the world Tuesday 00:00 GMT

Fantasy book club Continuing its new format

The next meeting of the Fantasy book club will take place on the fourth
Tuesday of the month, Tuesday, March 28, 2017, At 9 PM Eastern. All are

welcome. We will continue the format of having each member read a book, and

talk about its content. Our meeting will be held over the phone. The

conference number is, 712-832-8330. The access code is, 342-2731 pound sign.

Julia Kulak, group facilitator. Email, julia.kulak@gmail.com.

Date Tuesday, March 28, 2017, At 9 PM Eastern
phone: conference number is, 712-832-8330. The access code is, 342-2731 pound sign.

A Journey Through History meeting of 4/4/17 at 9pm Eastern to Discuss Bobby Kennedy: The Making of a Liberal Icon DB 85513 by Larry Tye

Last Tuesday the   History Group reviewed H. W. Brands “The General vs The President: MacArthur and Truman at the brink of Nuclear War’ which was well received by the group. Again in view of today’s Presidential Hi-Jinks our selection for April seems appropriate.

 
Bobby Kennedy
:
The Making of a Liberal Icon, db 85513 written by Larry Tye and read by Marc Cashman.  In twenty hours.
 
Larry Tie describes RFK’s many contradiction which led his conversion from Cold War Warrior to Anti war civil right candidate for president. The smallest of the Kennedy brothers, he was the most combative on the playing field, and called “ruthless” in the political arena, yet compassionate to the underprivileged. He was fanatically loyal to his family, his church and the Democratic Party but equally in his hatreds, such as for Roy Cohen, Jimmy Hoffa, J. Edgar Hoover and Lyndon Johnson which led to his change from an Anti- communist attorney for and family friend of Senator McCarthy  to becoming one of the youngest and least qualified but most effective  Attorney General in US History as well as Civil Rights advocate and Anti war Candidate for President before his assassination.

Date: April 4, 2017 at: 6:00 PM PST, 7:00 PM MST, 8:00 PM CST, and 9:00 PM EST           And elsewhere in the world Thursday 01:00 GMT.

The Fiction Old and New book group discussing "The Same Sky" by Amanda Eyre Ward, DB 80921

The Fiction Old and New book group will be discussing "The Same Sky" by Amanda Eyre Ward, DB 80921 on Thursday,  April 6, 2017 at 9:00 p.m.
eastern time, 6:00 p.m. pacific time in the Book Nook Room of the
Accessible World site, www.accessibleworld.org
 
"The Same Sky" is a dual storyline narrative filled with memorable
characters which explores the timely issues of illegal immigration and
adoption.  The BARD annotation is below.
 
Co-Hosts:
Sherry Wells
sherrywells1157@gmail.com

Michelle Bernstein
hamletsweetlady@gmail.com

 
Here is the annotation:
 
The same sky: a novel DB 80921
Ward, Amanda Eyre. Reading time 7 hours, 13 minutes.
Read by Emily Pike Stewart. A production of the National Library
Service for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Library of Congress.
 
Subjects: General
 
Description: Carla and her little brother live with their grandmother
in Honduras, while their mother sends money from Texas. When Carla's
grandmother dies, the children attempt to join their mother.
Meanwhile, in Texas, Alice and her husband are desperate to become
parents. Strong language, some violence, and some explicit
descriptions of sex. 2015.

Date: Thursday, April 6, 2017.
Time: 6:00 PM Pacific, 7:00 PM Mountain, 8:00 PM Central, 9:00 PM
Eastern, and elsewhere in the world Saturday 01:00 GMT.

Science Fiction Club Discussing The Best of All Possible Worlds DB82117 by Karen Lord

Hello Folks,  
A good turnout at our most recent meeting, with most of us liking our book, Dark Matter by Blake Crouch. For our next book, we’ve chosen a tale of a man and a woman who work together to save a vanishing alien race, in The Best of All Possible Worlds by Karen Lord.

Our book, The Best of All Possible Worlds, is available both from BARD and in Publisher Quality from Bookshare.
 
The BARD version is at:
 
http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.nls/db.82117
 
The NLS annotation reads:
 
An alien society finds its homeland destroyed,
and the survivors reach out to the indigenous humanoids of
their adopted world, to whom they are distantly related. A
man and woman from these clashing societies must now work
together to save this vanishing race. 2013
 
The Bookshare version is at:
 
https://www.bookshare.org/browse/book/611138
 
The Long Synopsis reads:
 
... The Best of All Possible Worlds is a stunning
science fiction epic that is also a beautifully wrought, deeply moving love story.
A proud and reserved alien society finds its homeland destroyed in an unprovoked
act of aggression, and the survivors have no choice but to reach out to the indigenous
humanoids of their adopted world, to whom they are distantly related. They wish to
preserve their cherished way of life but come to discover that in order to preserve
their culture, they may have to change it forever. Now a man and a woman from these
two clashing societies must work together to save this vanishing race--and end up
uncovering ancient mysteries with far-reaching ramifications. As their mission hangs
in the balance, this unlikely team--one cool and cerebral, the other fiery and impulsive--just
may find in each other their own destinies . . . and a force that transcends all.
 
Come join us next month to talk about this book, and anything else SF related.
  Evan

Date: Thursday, April 13, 2017
Time: 9 PM Eastern, 8 PM Central, 7 PM Mountain, 6 PM Pacific, and 1:00 UTC.

Novel Ideas Meeting The Other Einstein DB 86012 by Marie Benedict

Novel Ideas will be discussing the book The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict. DB 86012 Below is the synopsis from bookshare.
 
In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.
 
Join us on Friday, april 21, 2017 in the book Nook room of:
http://www.accessibleworld.org
to discuss this great book.
 
Host: Randi Shelton
E-Mail:
rshelton820@gmail.com
Co-host: Ruth Ann Acosta
E-Mail
ruth1244@gmail.com

Date: Friday, april, 21 2017
Time: 6:00 PM Pacific, 7:00 PM Mountain, 8:00 PM Central, 9:00 PM Eastern, and elsewhere in the world Saturday 01:00 GMT.